top of page

Eight Limbs of Yoga

Patanjali's wisdom explained...

Becoming a yoga teacher won't happen without deepen your knowledge about the Eight Limb Path of Patanjali. Yolentha felt strongly that this beautiful pathway is an amazing way to experience the truth that lays in practicing Yoga. So she gained more knowledge and sees it as a daily practice.

“A mind free from all disturbances is Yoga”

~ Patanjali ~


Patanjali said Yoga is about "Chitta Vritti Nirodha" which means "To stop the fluctuations of the mind". That is not only possible by following a yoga class and practicing physically some asana's on the mat. There is much more to it, it's a change in our behavioural patterns (samskara's) and the way we live our daily life. To experience true Yoga it has to become a way of living our life.  

Why Yolentha made a retreat about this theme is simple: it is great to enjoy a relaxing reenergizing retreat and have some time for yourself. But the experience is that as soon as you get home, back into your daily patterns it's very easy to lose that relaxed changed feeling quit quickly. Before you know it you are already tired again, feeling irritated or edgy and unhappy about specific things and maybe even about life. 

The Eight Limbs of Patanjali can be seen as a guidance; a practice you can bring home and work on every day or come back to. In the retreat Yolentha will offer you theme inspired practices on and off the mat. Daily we will work with a theme of the Eight Limb Path and particularly we dive deep into the first two Limbs: the Yamas and Niyamas. The Yamas will show us how we see the outer world and how this reflects our inner world. The Niyamas will explain you more about your relationship with yourself (inner world) and how this is reflected to your outer world.


The Eight Limbs

  1. Yamas            ~ 5 ways to connect with your external relationships

  2. Niyamas        ~ 5 ways to connect with your internal relationships

  3. Asana            ~ practice and movement on and off the mat

  4. Pranayama     ~ control of flow & intake of breath, experiencing Life Force Energy

  5. Pratyahara      ~ bringing attention inside

  6. Dharana         ~ concentration, bringing attention to single points

  7. Dhyana          ~ meditation, connecting Body, Mind & Breath

  8. Samadhi         ~ experiencing Bliss, the light & sparkle from within



"Through fun, gentle, creative and inviting Vinyasa Flow practices we will open our body & mind for new experiences.

We will meditate, chant and flow towards our Inner light, connecting with who we truly are and in that experiencing Bliss."

bottom of page